TEFL and CELTA cost database
Last checked: 2026-11-06
Compare course prices and cost ranges in one place. Each row shows who gave the figure, when, what is uncertain about it, and the page we took it from.
15 entries
| Course or type | Who says so | Kind | Format | Hours | Price shown | Date of figure | Caveat | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bridge 120-Hour Global TEFL Certificate | Bridge TEFL | Course price | Online | 120 hours | $399. One Bridge table also shows $419. | Shown November 6, 2026 | The course page, course list and monthly specials page show $399. A comparison table on this page shows $419, and Bridge does not explain why. Bridge also listed a code for $30 off through November 30, with no year stated. Only one discount applies per order. | Bridge TEFL: professional certificates |
| Bridge 100-Hour Introductory Educator | Bridge TEFL | Course price | Not stated | 100 hours | $350 | Shown November 6, 2026 | Standard price. Bridge says monthly specials can lower it. | Bridge TEFL: course list |
| Bridge 60-Hour Introductory Educator | Bridge TEFL | Course price | Not stated | 60 hours | $295 | Shown November 6, 2026 | Standard price. Bridge says monthly specials can lower it. | Bridge TEFL: course list |
| Bridge 40-Hour Basic | Bridge TEFL | Course price | Not stated | 40 hours | $195 | Shown November 6, 2026 | Standard price. Bridge says monthly specials can lower it. | Bridge TEFL: course list |
| The TEFL Academy Level 3 | The TEFL Academy | Course price | Online | 120 hours | $225 (was $563) | Shown November 6, 2026 | Sale listed as ending November 10, 2026. The was price is the only regular price shown. Conflicts with the cost guide row below. Use the price on the course page at checkout. | The TEFL Academy: Level 3 course |
| The TEFL Academy Level 3, UK site | The TEFL Academy | Course price | Online | 120 hours | £149 (was £373) | Shown November 6, 2026 | Sale listed as ending November 10, 2026. The was price is the only regular price shown. Conflicts with the cost guide row below. Use the price on the course page at checkout. | The TEFL Academy: Level 3 course, UK |
| The TEFL Academy Level 5 | The TEFL Academy | Course price | Online | 168 hours | $297 (was $743) | Shown November 6, 2026 | Sale listed as ending November 10, 2026. The was price is the only regular price shown. The page uses $ without naming the currency. The route offers 10 in-class hours or an online observed practice course. Conflicts with the cost guide row below. | The TEFL Academy: Level 5 course |
| The TEFL Academy Level 3, cost guide figure | The TEFL Academy | Cost guide figure | Not stated | 120 hours | About £350 ($440) | Guide data last updated May 30, 2023. Page header says June 5, 2026. | Dated, and higher than the current sale price. The guide says sales are common. | The TEFL Academy: TEFL cost guide |
| The TEFL Academy Level 5, cost guide figure | The TEFL Academy | Cost guide figure | Not stated | 168 hours | About £450 ($560) | Guide data last updated May 30, 2023. Page header says June 5, 2026. | Dated, and higher than the current sale price. The guide says sales are common. | The TEFL Academy: TEFL cost guide |
| 120-hour online TEFL/TESOL with a tutor | Bridge TEFL | Seller range | Online | 120 hours | $300 to $500 | September 21, 2026 | A range from a course seller, which offers its own courses. Treat it as a guide. | Bridge TEFL: certification cost |
| In-person TEFL/TESOL | Bridge TEFL | Seller range | In person | Not stated | $1,500 to $3,000 | September 21, 2026 | Bridge says tuition is only part of the cost of an in-person course. A range from a course seller, which offers its own courses. | Bridge TEFL: certification cost |
| General TEFL course | The TEFL Academy | Seller range | Not stated | Varies. 120 is the common benchmark, the providers say. | $200 to $500 | September 1, 2026 | A range from a course seller, which offers its own courses. Treat it as a guide. | The TEFL Academy: CELTA versus TEFL |
| CELTA, seller's estimate | The TEFL Academy | Seller range | Set by centre | At least 120 contact hours, plus 80 hours of other study | $1,500 to $3,000 | September 1, 2026 | Not a Cambridge figure. It comes from a seller of competing courses. | The TEFL Academy: CELTA versus TEFL |
| CELTA, official position | Cambridge English | No price published | Set by centre | At least 120 contact hours, plus 80 hours of other study | Depends on the centre | Checked November 6, 2026 | Cambridge gives no single fee. CELTA can be taken in person, online or as a mix. Ask the centre how teaching practice works now, because Cambridge's 2015 FAQ and current page differ. | Cambridge English: CELTA |
| Trinity CertTESOL | Trinity College London | No price published | Not stated | 200 total hours, with at least 130 guided hours | No fee on our pages. Ask a centre. | Checked November 6, 2026 | We have no sourced fee. At least 6 hours of teaching practice with real learners. | Trinity College London: CertTESOL |
No entries match. Clear the search or filter.
How to read this data
- Course prices are a snapshot. They are what each provider's page showed on November 6, 2026. Prices change and may differ by country.
- The TEFL Academy sale may be over. The sale prices are listed as ending November 10, 2026. The regular prices shown are in each row as "was" prices. Its older cost guide gives other figures. Use the price on the course page at checkout.
- Bridge's 120-hour price: the course page and course list show $399, so we use that. A comparison table on its professional certificates page shows $419, with no explanation.
- Seller ranges are guides. Bridge and The TEFL Academy both sell their own courses, so they have a reason to frame things in their favor.
- CELTA has no single price. Cambridge says fees depend on the centre. The $1,500 to $3,000 range is not a Cambridge figure.
How we checked: provider and Cambridge pages were opened directly. We have not taken these courses, and we did not check whether any employer accepts a given certificate. We have no sourced fee for Trinity CertTESOL.
Do you need one of these?
JET does not require a TEFL, although its FAQ calls such certifications an asset. Private employers set their own rules, so read the job listing before you buy. No certificate promises a job, and none replaces a degree where a degree is required.
If you are already on JET, CLAIR offers partial grants to selected participants for online TEFL or TESOL certification. The 2026-27 deadline is February 15, 2027 at 17:00 Japan time. We could not confirm the amount or the selection rules.
Read do you need a TEFL and TEFL vs TESOL vs CELTA. To add a course to your budget, use the start-up cost calculator.