Do you need a TEFL to teach English in Japan?
Last checked: 2026-11-06
No official source we checked says you must have a TEFL to teach English in Japan. JET does not require one, and the two Immigration Services Agency status pages we read do not mention one. Private employers set their own rules, so read each job listing.
Required or helpful?
| Who | Is a TEFL required? | Is it helpful? |
|---|---|---|
| JET Programme, 2027 | No. The JET FAQ says it is not a requirement to take part. | Yes, in selection. The FAQ calls such certifications an asset. The guidelines say extra consideration is given for language teaching experience or qualifications. |
| Immigration status pages | Not mentioned. The Instructor and Engineer/Specialist pages do not name TEFL, TESOL or CELTA. | Not stated. |
| Private employers | Varies. We have no official source for employers in general. A 2022 Bridge TEFL guide says Westgate requires one. We did not confirm this with Westgate. Interac's own page says a TEFL is not mandatory. | The same guide calls it a plus at AEON and Interac. This is a course seller's view from 2022, not the employers' current rules. Interac's page says these credentials are preferable. |
A TEFL does not replace the degree rule for JET, and no certificate promises you a job. See the JET requirements, the visa rules and teaching without a degree.
Confused by the names? See TEFL vs TESOL vs CELTA.
TEFL course prices from each provider
These are the prices each provider's own pages showed on November 6, 2026. Prices change, and they may differ by country.
| Course | Price shown | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Bridge 120-Hour Global TEFL Certificate | $399 | A comparison table on one Bridge page shows $419. See below. |
| Bridge 100-Hour Introductory Educator | $350 | Standard price |
| Bridge 60-Hour Introductory Educator | $295 | Standard price |
| Bridge 40-Hour Basic | $195 | Standard price |
| The TEFL Academy Level 3, 120 hours | $225 (was $563), or £149 on the UK site (was £373) | Sale listed as ending November 10, 2026 |
| The TEFL Academy Level 5, 168 hours | $297 (was $743) | Sale listed as ending November 10, 2026. The page uses "$" without naming the currency. |
Where the prices conflict
- Bridge: the course page, the course list and the monthly specials page all show $399, and the course list calls its prices standard prices, so we use $399. A comparison table on the professional certificates page shows $419, and Bridge does not explain why. Bridge also listed a code, BRIDGEBLACK30, for $30 off through November 30. The page does not state the year. Only one discount applies per order.
- The TEFL Academy: the sale ends November 10, 2026. The only regular prices its course pages show are the "was" prices: $563 for Level 3, $743 for Level 5 and £373 for Level 3 on the UK site. Its cost guide says about £350 ($440) for Level 3 and about £450 ($560) for Level 5. The guide says its data was last updated on May 30, 2023, while the page header says June 5, 2026. It also says sales are common. Use the price on the course page at checkout.
If you are already on JET
CLAIR offers partial grants to selected current participants for online TEFL or TESOL certification. The 2026-27 deadline is February 15, 2027 at 17:00 Japan time. We could not confirm the amount or the selection rules.
How we checked: provider prices, Immigration Services Agency pages and the 2027 JET guidelines were opened directly. The JET FAQ was read through a search tool, because the JET Programme site showed a maintenance notice. We have not taken these courses, and we did not check whether any employer accepts a given certificate.
Check current courses and prices on the Bridge TEFL site.
See Bridge TEFL coursesCheck current courses and prices on The TEFL Academy site.
See The TEFL Academy coursesSources
- JET Programme FAQ
- 2027 JET application guidelines (Embassy of Japan in India)
- CLAIR News, October 2026
- JET Programme: Grants for JETs
- Immigration Services Agency: Instructor status (Japanese)
- Immigration Services Agency: Engineer/Specialist status (Japanese)
- Bridge TEFL: course list
- Bridge TEFL: 120-hour certificate
- Bridge TEFL: professional certificates
- Bridge TEFL: monthly specials
- Bridge TEFL: teaching in Japan guide, 2022
- The TEFL Academy: Level 3 course
- The TEFL Academy: Level 3 course, UK
- The TEFL Academy: Level 5 course
- The TEFL Academy: TEFL cost guide
- Interac: requirements